Topic Last Modified: 2011-03-19
Use this page to manage mobile phones for which a partnership has been set up with your mailbox. You can remove the partnership between your mobile phone and your mailbox. If you lose your mobile phone, you can initiate a remote device wipe to help protect the information on your mobile phone. You can also use this page to view synchronization and other mobile phone information.
|This topic applies to the Outlook Web App Light. To read about this feature for the standard version of Outlook Web App, see Mobile Phones Tab.|
For information about how to connect your mobile phone to your e-mail account, see Set Up Your E-Mail Account on Your Mobile Phone.
Remove Device from List You can remove mobile phones that you're no longer using from the list of phones that have partnerships with your mailbox. When you remove a phone from the list, you also remove the partnership between the mobile phone and your mailbox. After you select the mobile phone and click Remove Device from List, you'll be prompted to confirm that you want to remove the phone.
|To add a new phone, start a partnership with the Exchange server from the phone, and it will appear in the list.|
Wipe All Data from Device You can use this option to clear data from a stolen phone or to clear a phone before you assign it to another user. After you select the mobile phone and click Wipe Device, you'll be prompted to confirm that you want to delete all the data from the phone.
Your mobile phone frequently stores sensitive personal and corporate data. A remote device wipe not only deletes all synchronized information, such as e-mail, calendar appointments, contacts, and tasks, it also deletes all information on any internal storage cards. In effect, it sets the phone back to its factory settings. No user interaction is required on the phone to complete the remote wipe.
After completing a remote device wipe, the phone has to be removed from the Device list. If the phone is recovered, it can't be synchronized with the Exchange server until the old partnership has been removed and a new one has been established.
What if I want to know more?