Options > Messaging

The messaging options let you configure individual message settings, for example, your e-mail signature or how you want names you input into e-mail messages and calendar items to be resolved.

noteNote:
This topic applies to the Outlook Web App Light. To read about this feature for the standard version of Outlook Web App, see Mail Tab.

After you change the settings on this page, click saveSave to apply your changes.

Message Options

Number of items to display per page   Set the number of e-mail messages or items that will be displayed at a time. By default, 20 items will be displayed at a time. You can set the number of items to be displayed from 5 to 100.

After moving or deleting an item   Set this option to select the action you want to be taken after you move or delete a message you have open. When you move or delete a message, you can choose to return to the view, open the previous item, or open the next item. By default, return to the view is selected.

E-Mail Signature

An e-mail signature is text that's automatically added to the end of an outgoing e-mail message. You can also use a signature to add standard text, for example, an explanation of how you want others to respond to your messages.

Automatically include my signature on outgoing messages   Selecting this option sets up Outlook Web App to include a signature that you create in outgoing messages. If no signature exists, this box is blank. The signatures you create in Outlook Web App aren't shared with Outlook. You'll have to create separate signatures if you use Outlook Web App and Outlook to access your e-mail, voice mail, and fax messages.

To modify your existing signature, click Replace my current signature with the following, and then enter your new signature in the text box.

Message Tracking

Message tracking options let you control responses to read receipts. You have three options for handling e-mail that has a read receipt.

Ask me before sending a response   Select this option if you want to be prompted before sending a read receipt e-mail message to the sender. By default, a message appears in an information bar that states the sender has requested a read receipt.

Always send a response   Select this option if you want to automatically send a read receipt response to a sender who requests a receipt for their e-mail message.

Never send a response   Select this option if you want never want to send a read receipt response to a sender who requests a receipt for their e-mail message.

E-Mail Name Resolution

The e-mail name resolution options on this page let you control how the names you use when you address a recipient for e-mail messages are added to a most recent recipients list and whether those names are resolved using the global address list or your contacts.

Add recent recipients to the Most Recent Recipients list   Selecting this check box adds names that are resolved to the Most Recent Recipients list. The names that are added to this list appear in a selection box in the user interface when you start to type part of the recipient's full name. Within this selection box you can select the appropriate recipient. If this option isn't selected, you need to type the full name of the recipient. When you add the same recipient to another e-mail message, the recipient name won't appear in the selection box in the user interface. By default, this setting is selected.

  • Clear Most Recent Recipients list   Click this link to clear the Most Recent Recipients list. You'll be prompted to confirm that you want to clear the names from the list before the names are cleared.

When resolving names, check first in   This option lets you choose where Outlook Web App checks first to resolve names on the To or Cc lines of an e-mail message. You can use the global address list or your contacts.

  • Global Address List   Select this option if you want to first use the global address list to resolve a recipient name. If Outlook Web App can't resolve the name in the global address list, it will look in your Contacts. By default, this option is selected.

  • Contacts   Select this option if you want to first use your personal contacts to resolve a recipient name. If Outlook Web App can't resolve the name in your contacts, it will look in the global address list.

Deleted Items

You can choose to automatically delete all items in the Deleted Items folder when you sign out.

Empty the Deleted Items folder when I sign out   Select this check box if you want to delete items in the Deleted Items folder when you sign out from Outlook Web App. After you delete an item from your Deleted Items folder, it's permanently deleted.

What if I want to know more?

 
Related help topics
Loading...
No resources were found.