This topic contains video This topic contains video

Recover a Deleted Mailbox in Live@edu

 

Applies to: Live@edu

Topic Last Modified: 2013-01-25

noteNote:
If you are using Office 365, the deleted mailbox recovery procedures are completed only in the Office 365 portal.
For more information about Office 365 mailbox recovery procedures, see the following help topics:

Watch this demo to learn how to recover a deleted mailbox.

4873755a-8b1e-497e-bc54-101d1e75d3e7

To recover a deleted mailbox, follow these steps:

  1. In the Exchange Control Panel, click Manage My Organization, click Users & Groups, click Mailboxes, and then click Deleted Mailboxes Deleted Mailboxes.

  2. On the Deleted Mailboxes page, select the deleted mailbox that you want to recover, and then click Recover Recover Deleted Mailbox.

  3. On the Recover Mailbox Data page, enter the following information:

    First name, Initial, Last name

    These fields aren't required, but they are recommended.

    * Display name

    This name appears in the address book in the following locations:

    • On the To and From lines in an e-mail message window

    • In the Mailboxes list in the Exchange Control Panel

    * User ID (Microsoft Live@edu)

    Note   This section applies to Microsoft Live@edu only.

    Enter the Windows Live ID that you want to associate with the recovered mailbox. What you see here depends on what you did when you deleted the mailbox.

    • If you kept the Live ID when you deleted the mailbox:

      • The original Windows Live ID is associated with the recovered mailbox.

      • You cannot enter a password.

      • The original Windows Live ID is associated with the recovered mailbox.

      • The settings of the original Windows Live ID are preserved.

    • If you didn't keep the Windows Live ID when you deleted the mailbox:

      • The Windows Live ID is automatically populated with the original Windows Live ID of the deleted mailbox.

      • You must enter a new password.

      • The original Windows Live ID is associated with the recovered mailbox.

      • The settings of the original Windows Live ID are preserved.

    You can replace the automatically populated Windows Live ID value by using a completely different value. You can also specify a new Windows Live ID, or an existing Windows Live ID that isn't associated with another mailbox.

    Note   When you delete a mailbox and keep the Windows Live ID, that Windows Live ID isn't associated with a mailbox.

    A different kind of Windows Live ID, called an unmanaged Windows Live ID, was created before the domain was enrolled in the cloud-based e-mail service. An unmanaged Windows Live ID must be imported into the organization before it can be associated with a mailbox. For more information, see Import or Evict Existing Microsoft IDs in Live@edu.

    * User ID (Microsoft Office 365)

    Note   This section applies to Microsoft Office 365 only.

    Enter the Microsoft Online Services ID you want to associate with the recovered mailbox.

    The User ID field is automatically populated with the original user ID of the deleted mailbox.

    You can replace the automatically populated user ID value by using a completely different value. You can specify a new user ID or an existing user ID that isn't associated with another mailbox.

    * Password, Confirm password

    What you see here depends on the selection that you made in the user ID field.

    • For Live@edu

      • You can't enter a password if you kept the original Windows Live ID when you deleted the mailbox, and you're using that Windows Live ID for the recovered mailbox.

      • You must enter a password if you didn't keep the original Windows Live ID when you deleted the mailbox, and you're using that Windows Live ID for the recovered mailbox.

      • You must enter a password if you replace the automatically populated Windows Live ID value by using a completely different value.

    • For Microsoft Office 365

      • You must enter a password.

    To help increase security, use strong passwords that are at least eight characters long and that combine uppercase and lowercase letters, numbers, and symbols. For more information, see Password Guidelines.

    Require password change on next logon

    This option helps ensure that only the user knows the password. Make sure to encourage people to use strong passwords.

    Mailbox plan

    A mailbox plan defines settings and permissions for the user. You can choose a mailbox plan for the user here if your organization has more than one mailbox plan. Some organizations have only one. For more information, see Mailbox Plans.

  4. After you have completed these settings, click Recover.

Next steps

When you recover a mailbox, most of the original mailbox settings are lost. This includes group membership, contact information, and permissions, among other settings. You have to restore the lost settings yourself after you recover the mailbox.

 
Related help topics
Loading...
No resources were found.