Managing Your Mobile Phone

After you've set up your mobile phone to access your account, you can change the types of information you can access from the phone or remove all your information from the phone, if you need to.

How do I change the information on my phone?

Your phone can access your e-mail messages, voice mail messages, appointments and meetings, contacts, and tasks. You can change which types of information are synchronized with your phone. To change this information, follow these steps:

  1. On your mobile phone, open ActiveSync.

  2. Tap Menu, and then tap Options.

  3. Tap to select or clear Contacts, Calendar, E-mail, and Tasks.

  4. Tap OK.

What if I lose my phone or want to remove all information from it?

When you use your phone to access your mailbox, your phone stores a lot of information. If you lose your phone, you should immediately delete all information from the phone. You can do that from your mailbox by using a process called remote device wipe.

Remote device wipe tells your account to send an instruction to your phone to delete all data the next time the phone connects to your account. After the remote device wipe process is complete, it's very hard to recover the information that was stored on the phone. However, no data removal process leaves your phone in the same state as it was when it was brand new. It's possible that data might be recovered using sophisticated tools.

To wipe all of the data from your phone, follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to your account.

  2. Click Options.

  3. In the Navigation Pane, click Phone.

  4. Click the Mobile Phones tab.

  5. Select the phone that you want to wipe and remove from the list.

  6. Click Wipe All Data from Phone.

  7. Click OK.

  8. Click Remove Phone from List.

 
Related help topics
Loading...
No resources were found.