You might receive a message that has a read receipt. This is a request by the sender of the message to receive notification when you've opened their message. By default, a receipt is automatically sent to the sender when you open a message that has a read receipt.
You can change the default setting in the Messaging options for messages with a read receipt.
What if I want to know more?